AHCA National Quality Awards slider

Recognized for Quality

The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program provides a pathway for providers of long term and post-acute care services to journey towards performance excellence. The program is based on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program.

Member centers may apply for three progressive levels of awards: Bronze—Commitment to Quality, Silver—Achievement in Quality, or Gold—Excellence in Quality. Each level has its own distinct rigors and requirements for quality and performance excellence.

Applications are judged by trained Examiners who provide feedback on opportunities for improvement to support continuous learning.

Virginia has 71 active AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Winners:

  • 1 Gold—Excellence in Quality
  • 12 Silver—Achievement in Quality
  • 58 Bronze—Commitment to Quality

2020 Award Application Timeline

AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program Portal

The Portal allows applicants to:

  • Review the Quality Award Application Packets (Bronze, Silver, and Gold)
  • Submit an Intent-to-Apply payment
  • Submit a Quality Award Application and application fee
  • Review and complete a Quality Award Examiner application

If you are applying for a National Quality Award, please read through the entire application before starting the process. We encourage all centers to start the application process early and to work continually throughout the coming months to ensure accurate and complete information is given. If you have any questions, please contact the Quality Award staff at qualityaward@ahca.org.

Important Dates to Remember (All deadlines are at 8:00 pm EST)

  • November 7, 2019 – Intent-to-Apply Deadline
  • January 23, 2020 – Quality Award Application Deadline

For more information on the National Quality Award Program and the Examiner process please visit the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program webpage and check out these Fast Facts.