Skip to content Accessibility tools
Virginia Health Care Association | Virginia Center for Assisted Living

31 Members Recognized with Bronze Quality Awards

31 Members Recognized with Bronze Quality Awards

2016 Bronze awardThirty-one VHCA-VCAL members have been recognized with the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) for their dedication to quality care.  The National Quality Award Program spotlights providers across the country that have demonstrated their commitment to delivering quality care for seniors and persons with disabilities.

Virginia tied with California for the most number of centers achieving this prestigious status.  In total, 538 recipients in 48 states were recognized with a Bronze Quality Award.

VHCA-VCAL offers its congratulations to the following:

  • Autumn Care of Altavista
  • Belvoir Woods Assisted Living, Ft. Belvoir
  • Belvoir Woods Health Care Center, Ft. Belvoir
  • Berry Hill Health and Rehabilitation Center, South Boston
  • Commonwealth Health & Rehab Center, Fairfax
  • Heritage Hall – Rich Creek
  • Lancashire Convalescent and Rehabilitation Center, Kilmarnock
  • Riverside Convalescent Center – Mathews
  • Riverside Shore Rehabilitation Center, Parskley
  • River View on the Appomattox Health & Rehab, Hopewell
  • Trinity Mission of Charlottesville
  • Trinity Mission of Farmville, LLC
  • Trinity Mission Health & Rehab of Rocky Mount
  • Sunrise at Bluemont Park, Arlington
  • Sunrise at Mount Vernon, Alexandria
  • Sunrise at Hunter Mill, Oakton
  • Sunrise at Reston Town Center
  • Sunrise of Alexandria
  • Sunrise of Arlington
  • Sunrise of Fairfax
  • Sunrise at Fair Oaks, Fairfax
  • Sunrise of Falls Church
  • Sunrise of Leesburg
  • Sunrise of McLean
  • Sunrise of Springfield
  • The Colonnades, Charlottesville
  • The Jefferson, Arlington
  • The Orchard, Warsaw
  • The Sylvestery, McLean
  • The Towers, Richmond
  • The Woodlands Health & Rehab Center, Clifton Forge

“Our members are dedicated to improving the lives of the residents they care for every day,” said Keith Hare, President and CEO of VHCA-VCAL. “Being recognized for their hard work and commitment is well deserved.”

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is the foundation of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals.

The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Providers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with essential performance elements such as vision and mission statements and an assessment of customers’ expectations. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained examiners review each Bronze application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. Recipients of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award.

The awards will be presented during AHCA/NCAL’s 67th Annual Convention and Exposition in Nashville, Tennessee, October 16-19, 2016.